PHONE  (707)253-1105

FAX  (707)409-6242

EMAIL  info@sunrisemontessorinapa.com

FOLLOW US ON

  • Facebook Social Icon

Member of

American Montessori Society

Jim Bartscherer

Before and After Care

Co-Teacher

Upper Elementary

Assistant Teacher

Elementary

PE Teacher

 

Where did you grow up?

I was born in the Los Angeles area. I went to elementary, middle and high school in L.A. I came to Napa in 1995 to witness the harvest and to settle down with my wife in 2008.

 

What were your dreams as a child?

I wanted to be an actor and/or a farmer!

 

Where were you educated?

I attended the University of Southern California, I majored in philosophy and minored in theater. Later I attended Napa Valley College in the Child and Family Studies program.

 

How did you learn about the Montessori philosophy?

While investigating where to send my son to school I came upon Sunrise. I loved that Montessori is a philosophy not just a curriculum.

 

How long have you worked at Sunrise?

I have worked at Sunrise for 3 years.

 

Which age groups have you worked with at Sunrise?

I have worked with all the age groups, except toddlers.

 

Where else have you worked?

I have worked in the restaurant industry in Wyoming. I worked at BV Winery as a sugar sampler and then in wine retail in various cities in California. I also enjoyed working at Paramount Studios on a TV show, as a production assistant and later a producer. Back up north again I worked for a time at Duckhorn Winery until my wife and I decided that I would stay home to be a full time dad to our 2 sons.

 

What excites you about the Montessori philosophy?

I love the purity and unexpected beauty that the children bring to school each day and that it is different every day. I love to watch their voyage of discovery unfold at their own pace, as it best suits them, and to watch their individuality blossom.

 

What is the essence of the Montessori philosophy for you?

The essence of the philosophy for me is flexibility. With flexibility comes patience, temperance and humility.

 

What do you love to do outside of school?

I love to sail and to travel with my family.